Strange flower, strange day

A very strange day indeed: the sun shone, there was blue sky and it was warm. It was also very quiet with very little interaction with the rest of the human race. Why? N has succumbed to Covid so we are in splendid isolation! It’s rather ironic that after two and a half years, someone who keeps himself to himself and has a very small social circle manages to pick up the virus. Why was it not me? Of course, I may still fall foul of it. 

I spent most of the day working in the garden, at a very slow rate because I’m just not used to these warm temperatures. I need to get acclimatised to this sudden change to summer.

The subject of my blip today is a flowering house leek. Having had these plants for a couple of years this is the first time they have bloomed and I love the strangeness of not only it’s appearance but also the way it has erupted from seemingly nowhere.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.