caitjob

By caitjob

Paris X

I realised that I've never taken any photos of Nanterre uni. It's not very pretty, just 60s blocks but as this was my last proper week of lessons I thought I should take some to remember it.

Had many classes as is usual for a Wednesday. I'm not going to miss 2 hour classes. And the 'hour' ones at Warwick where you get 5 mins either side to get to your next lesson are going to feel very short.

Had a partiel for translation which was interesting. I forgot the word for pond (étang) so translated it as a 'tout petit lac' (a really small lake). I also didn't know the word for musty (de moisi) so decided to describe it as a concept. My aim was to say both wet and dusty, except I didn't know the word for dust (la poussière) so it ended up 'à la fois mouillé et plein de petit morceaux' (both wet and full of little pieces').

Not my best effort, I also forgot the word for a well, 'puits', which I should know so said it was a hole 'un trou'. And I didn't know the word for rot so described that as the natural deterioration of wood, 'la détérioration naturelle de bois'. Possibly a bit scientific.

Sorry for the little vocab lesson. I probably now look bad at French but that's the problem with translation if you don't know the word!

Pub quiz in the evening but I didn't get the maths question, for some reason probability has always confused me...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.