Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Tour Guide. Not.

Down at the station at the crack of dawn to meet Chamaeleo off the overnight train. Stood and yawned and watched the commuters who were just starting their daily journey and was joyful yet again that I was retired. Though I never did have to endure public transport commutes in all my working life.

Back home for breakfast, and a couple of coffees from my little machine, which got the thumbs up from Chamaeleo, who is a coffee aficionado, but could say nothing else anyway, being well brought up. Then off for a wander into town.

We were too early for the museum - which is what happens when you're up at the crack of dawn - so we had a very passable coffee in Brew Lab, with a big tick for the ambience, decor and great sound system. So far so good...

In the museum (The Symmetry!) a vigilant steward instructed Chamaeleo to wear the camera strap, lest it fall over the banister and hit someone! The fact that I was holding my strapless camera must not have been covered in the Museum Stewards' Rule Book, because he ignored me.

We wandered down through the Grassmarket, me waffling on with very vague historical references. I really must learn about the history of the place. My father was a history teacher, after all.

Chamaeleo was off to meet up with a London friend in Loudon's, and then another friend for a coffee in the afternoon, so I headed back home, but I could not pass by Mollie's shop without popping in to see if she wanted to come out for a walk ball chase. She did. She is so daft. She runs miles unnecessarily, though it suits me as I'm not very good at chucking it far.

I'm back home and I'm stuffed. I'm off to lie down. Glad you all liked my hat yesterday.

But it's still NO! on any swimming cozzie blip.

EDIT: The new magic window cleaning fandangle has just arrived! I may not lie down now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.