Sedge Warbler

The hottest day of the year was forecast so I did my walk along the canal soon after 7.00am when it was lovelyand cool.  When I got there I was surprised to see two men from the Canal and River Trust.  I got chatting to them and apparently they start early in summer to male up for the short days in winter. It's a good job that I was early as by the time I got back the car park was full of works vans and I wouldn't have been able to park.

I saw this Sedge warbler catching insects (especially caterpillars) in bushes by the reed bed.  It then dropped down out of sight with them so assume that it was feeding young.  I also saw a Great Spotted Woodpecker investigating an old tree.

There were lots of butterflies around (Small Skipper, Gatekeeper, Meadow Brown, Speckled Wood, Small Heath, Small Tortoishell, Green Veined and Large White) demoiselles, blue damselflies and Brown hawker dragonflies.  They were making the most of the cooler weather too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.