Its the Way It Is

By Jeano

It’s Art, Innit

For the excellent Mono Monday challenge (Square), I set about recreating Old Man Malevich’s Black Square

See here ….

https://www.tate.org.uk/art/artists/kazimir-malevich-1561/five-ways-look-malevichs-black-square

Now Kaz stop me if I’m wrong, but did you not just draw a square on a bit of white paper and colour the square with your black crayon. (Which is kinda what I did - but on canvas)

Ah sure I know, it’s Art.  Although I won’t lie.  It took me a considerable time to line it all up and keep that old square, well, square.  But I put some good music on the speakers, had a long cool pineapple with sparkling water drink and generally zoned out for a few hours.  You could say the black square  kept me occupied and distracted and maybe that is good enough reason to do it.  

(Despite what youse think, I am a fan of the kazmeister -born Kiev - read his bio here if interested)

Btw The Tate.org.Uk is a great art site and they always keep it real.

Art for Art’s Sake

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.