Lyme Regis Dawn

We got up early this morning to drive to Lyme Regis for the sunrise.  Today was one of the few days when it would coincide with a high tide, a suggested photo in my Photographing Dorset book.  But somehow I had moved (in my head) the sunrise time from 0511 to 0413, goodness knows how, and we arrived with more than an hour to kill before sunrise.  Mrs B was very polite and understanding about it, enjoying the warmth and tranquility of the moment – despite having left home at around 0300.

So I took many photos of the dawn light.  Those clouds accompanied us all the way along the coast road, as did the colours in the sky.  I was "bombed" by a seagull who seemed to take exception to my standing on the Cobb in the twilight, but otherwise it was delightfully peaceful.  In the Extra is one of the Cobb looking approximately southeast; there was a pink hue to the night colour of the sea.  The sunrise is among three other shots here.

As you'll see from the sunrise photo the sun rose just to one side of a gap in the hills to the northeast of Lyme Regis.  I managed to centre it on the harbour entrance, but it wasn't quite right.  So, I've warned Mrs B that I'll be trying again in two weeks' time, when the tide is high at around sunrise (0530).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.