Goodbye Rainbow Man

Today we said goodbye to the husband of our dear friend Helen. Brian was a former Castle colleague who I first met at the staff entrance where he manned the security checkpoint.

Witty banter and a good chat was the norm and Brian always made me smile. In fact his sense of humour was similar to that of my Bae… sarcastic and sometimes inappropriate but never fails to get a laugh out of me!

During the service a photo slideshow played accompanied by Brian singing a song he wrote called Rainbow. The lyrics were touching and his voice and guitar playing reminded me a bit of Paul McCartney or perhaps Ed Sheeran as his son said in his introduction.

It was one of the hottest days of the year and the roses looked so beautiful in the glorious sunlight as we left the service.

Friends and family gathered at The Ship Hotel afterwards and there was much smiling and sharing memories. It was nice to catch up with several former castle chums I’d not seen in a couple of years, lovely surprise to see Tim and Sarah especially. Wish we’d had longer to chat!

A hard day for Helen (fellow blipper LaLa) but she kept it together and I don’t care what she says I think she continues to show incredible strength and resilience and is an inspiration to me.

Goodbye Rainbow Man, I’m so glad to have known you. We’ll look after Helen for you.

Photo: The floral tribute in the shape of a guitar which I thought looked incredible.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.