Calligraphy

I had a nice lunch with an old friend, Gloria and then we went for a walk down at the river. There was lots happening with people getting everything for summer. Boats, barges and jetties getting ready for the hustle and bustle of the Song Hua River in summer.

This man was writing Chinese characters on the ground. He has a pointed sponge on the end of a sick.. He dips the sponge in the small water container that's near his foot and then writes.

Using some of my recently learned and practiced Chinese I started to talk with him. He was a very nice fellow. He asked me if I was Russian. There are a lot of Russians here in Harbin, since it's so close to the Russian border. I told him I was from Australia and he promptly wrote that on the ground. I asked him his name and he told me. It just happens that his family name is the same as T's which was super cool.

So. Please let me introduce Mr. Tang. He is 77 years old. He has 6 children. I think he has 4 grandchildren and three great grandchildren. I wasn't sure of the grandkids. I don't know those words in Chinese. I think he used to work in some kind of park when he was younger.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.