Cygnets

Seeing the Carneddau yesterday certainly lifted my spirits - and thank you so much for the lovely comments, stars and hearts for my reflected pony shot. I’d like to say I slept well and woke refreshed this morning, but I’m afraid that’s not the case. Still, I accept G’s offer of a lift to Penmaenmawr from where I can then walk to Llanfairfechan - I’m working on the theory that the only way I’ll regain my energy is by actually getting out there and doing something …..

In reality, it’s a bit too far and definitely far too hot, but the walk affords stunning views aver towards the Orme and Anglesey - particularly beautiful on a day like this.  

Eventually, I reach the end of Llanfairfechan where the prom leads to the coastal path along Mor Elias reserve. By now I’m feeling weary, so I stop by the small man-made lake and watch the swan family. The adults have succeeded in raising four cygnets, now clearly intent on pushing boundaries. 

One of them seems to have adopted the role of playground bully and is chasing some mallards across the water. I think it’s over, but then suddenly, the whole thing starts again. There’s lots of splashing and quacking, but this cygnet clearly won’t stand down. Eventually, they’ve had enough of this aggression and the ducks quickly make towards the pond edge, making a frantic leap out of the water, the cygnet very close behind. 

I’m tempted to post this as my main, but my settings are wrong so I relegate this ‘Exit pursued by a cygnet’ sequence to extras, leaving a more sedate sibling relaxing, backlit webbed foot glowing in the sun, for my main. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.