Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

The ‘Dog’

Took my now familiar walk to the swimming pool at 6:30 this morning.  Even at that time the temperature was in the high teens and the sun’s rays could be felt on my bare arms and legs.

The swim was enjoyable and for the first time I swam a mile without breaks, taking just over 30 minutes.

As I walked out of the leisure centre the temperature had already risen.  I bumped into a lady with her West Highland terrier and stopped for a quick chat. My Mom had a ‘Westie’ in the 70s and I was often employed to walk him around the local park. When I asked his name she said he didn’t have on; he was just ‘the dog’.

The rest of the day was filled with home chores and then managing the house to limit the heat that continued to rise. Cloud cover as dusk fell had the effect of trapping the heat and temperatures didn’t drop much below 20 deg C throughout the night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.