a lifetime burning

By Sheol

The threat from above

It was very quiet down on the Somerset Levels this morning.  With hardly a breath of air the high humidity and heat from the last few days meant that not much was stirring in the reed beds.  I couldn't find any of the bearded tits although I did hear them pinging once or twice. 

However, just when I thought I'd have to give it up as a bad job one of the male Marsh harriers swooped by in front of me, and for once I managed to get a decent shot of him at quite close range for a Marsh harrier.  So much so that, when I packed up and came home at 10am, as it started to get unpleasantly hot,  I felt that the early start had definitely been worthwhile, even though I'd not managed to get any really decent shots of any other birds.

But of course, just as I was about to get back to the car, I saw the Roe deer with her fawn - so I've put those up as an extra.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.