The Strawberry

Newcastle Sunday

Earlyish start today. It was much busier than yesterday at breakfast and I managed to get the very last lemon and ginger tea bag! That, along with some toast and marmalade and orange juice were my breakfast. There was a little time to do some Blip commenting before heading out to St James Park again.

We picked up some lunch to take with us on the way. First up today was Salford v Huddersfield. It proved to be a one sided affair - Huddersfield won 30-18. Then we had Catalans Dragons v Warrington Wolves. I had been looking forward to this one as I thought it would be a good contest, but Dragons were missing quite a few first team players and it too ended up with a big win for Warrington, 36-10. I'd wanted Dragons to win but at least this keeps Wigan in second! The Catalans captain ended up getting injured and is in a Newcastle hospital where they are attempting to reattach his ear! 

I'm not sure how that happened but there were other incidents similar to the one that saw one of Wigan's players sent off with no action taken! Huh!!

The last game of the event was the Hull derby. Each Hull team brought more fans than anyone else and the atmosphere was excellent. I didn't really mind who won but we were at the same end as the Hull FC fans and I started rooting for KR! It was a very close game with the lead changing hands several times. For the neutral supporter it was the best match of the weekend! FC were eventual winners, 34-28. We play FC next Friday and so long as they field the same side I'm confident!

After the game we went to the Crows Nest for food and a couple of drinks. Now we are back in the hotel and relaxing, but all the room lights have just packed up. TV still works so not the electric! They are trying to fix it...

My shot for today was taken on the way to the ground. This very popular  pub is next to St James' Park stadium!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.