My Attempts

By Bernydoll

Surf City

A couple of years ago my son gave me a super book called Public Sculptor of Glasgow by Ray McKenzie.It's full of really good info on sculptures all over Glasgow, some traditional allegorical and some completely whacky. This one is called Surf City but the description doesn't say why it's called that.

"an abstract arrangement of interlocking geometric blocks, mostly cubic but with several more curvaceous forms suggestive of waves. In the lower part of the work, the stones are assembled in courses reminiscent of ashlar masonry
familiar from Glasgow tenements, while the upper part resembles, albeit it in simple form, the massing of a group of modernist skyscrapers."

Anyway I pass it a lot on my way to work and still don't "get it".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.