Snowshill Sundial (widwed130722)

We were out early(ish) this morning for a trip to Snowshill Manor, a National Trust property just over the border into Gloucestershire. 

The manor houses an eclectic collection put together by Charles Paget Wade.  He was an architect, skilled craftsman and a genuine harmless eccentric - or possibly completely out of his tree depending on one's point of view :-)

I thought this sundial would fit in with today's Wide Wednesday theme of Sun/Moon - though I think it is largely decorative - being very difficult to read on top of that 4 metre column.  Going by the shadows, the photo was taken just before noon, I'm not convinced it is the right way around either?

Three images put together in PS so I could mask out two people having a VERY LOUD CONVERSATION about their various prescription drugs ....

In the extra, one of the wildflower areas in the garden with a glimpse of the manor itself in the background.  I did think of putting that one into wildflower week, but I have another possibility for that.

Thanks to everyone who has visited my journal recently - and for all the stars & favourites - all much appreciated.
Thanks also to BobsBlips for organising and hosting Wide Wednesday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.