Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Water colour

The heatwave-that-isn't continues in the West of Scotland, with the odd patch of blue and sudden revelation of how hot the sun is soon banished by another bank of cloud with some drizzle on the wind and no sign at all of melting tar on the roads. Any health warning in our neck of the woods might be more concerned by the effect of constant media talk of soaring temperatures and - worse - of the election of yet another not-Scottish person telling us we can't decide our own future till they say so...

But actually my day was good. Alone again at my art class, I think I've finished the wee watercolour I have been working on, of sunrise on Lake Garda - and because it was my first, and because I'm actually reasonably pleased with it, I'm going to mount and frame it, just for me. (My extra photo shows my friend and mentor Paddy tidying up the fistful of brushes she let me use, while Himself looks strangely glum, which he wasn't.)

Lunch back home was absurdly late, because we'd stayed talking for so long, and after it I kept falling asleep. I have been finding the painting at the one time relaxing mentally but utterly exhausting: guess I've been concentrating.) Then there was some Italian to do, and a walk to fit in before dinner. That's when I took the main photo, another one of the Firth of Clyde but with very different blues from yesterday's. I love the delicate colours of sea and shore, and the variety of clouds, in what was a very peaceful moment. 

During dinner (lemony pea and prawn risotto with shreds of chilli) we listened to Gabrieli broadcast from York Minster, and I thought of the effect of soaring music in a soaring space and its link with the eternal - and wondered just how many people were doing the same thing at the same time. (Actually wondering - crazy minority or one of many?) And then there was just time to pop up to the study for Compline on Zoom, one of the best remnants of lockdown days. 

And tomorrow I'm resolved to go shopping really early - a less pleasant reminder of post-lockdown days. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.