Vintage Mouli Parsmint

Vintage Mouli Parsmint

The other day when we were clearing the top of the dining room dresser to put ‘Paul’s Beast’ on it we found this old grater / herb mill that came from my Mums house 12 years ago. 

I fell in love with it straight away, all that lovely surface texture and I knew that I wanted to take a picture of it and I got round to photographing the grater today for my Daily Photo Journal.

In the mean time Sue did some research. On the side it says ‘Mouli Parsmint’, the company that made it and she found it was designed in 1932 by Jean Mantelet, the founder of the French Kitchen appliance company that became Moulinex in 1957. 

It also stated ‘Patents Pending’ and according to wikipedia the patent was granted in the 1940’s. So this means our grater was manufacture between 1932 and ‘the 1940s’ and is now 80 - 90 years old. 

She also found one for sale on the web for £27 :)

Another interesting fact is that you can still buy a similar grater / mill by Moulinex today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.