After you...

I knew that this local lavender swathe would be swarming with bees and that late afternoon gave the best light - normally. As luck would have it, swathes of cloud made for very changeable lighting, which combined with nippy bees who were immune to the relaxing effect of lavender made it even more challenging to get reasonably sharp shots of them. Please look large on black for the bee detail!

Still, the lavender worked it's magic on me and I was out there for quite a while in the end.

This shot was rather dark and I've had to work quite hard to get it looking like it might be a summer's afternoon. Looking back at the other raw file thumbnails, I'm wondering if I've overdone it a bit as even the brightest, most translucent pics are much bluer in tone.

I ended up keeping far more images than I thought I would and at some point I'd like to have a go at layering up a lavender/bee montage or two. The selection does include a single 'sharing' shot, but it's not that great.

For those that are interested, this was taken with my nifty fifty Meyer Gorlitz Oreston f1.8. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.