Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Vole (Microtus agrestis)

I popped in to the local nature reserve for the first time this year. As I was walking down to the pool I noticed a couple of people staring intently at a wood pile. When I asked they explained they were watching a vole coming out to collect peanuts they had put out.

Well I've got to admit it felt as though I were looking at a gift horse in the mouth, so I hung around. I was using the Nikon v1 and I think I've pushed it as far as it will go with an ISO of 800, the 30-110mm (85 - 297mm equivalent) wide open and at maximum zoom. I'm not offering this up as a quality image, but I will look forward to returning with big glass and trying to capture this young vole in days to come.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.