GracieG

By GracieG

Unexpected!

Backblip
Day two of my  London Trip.  I left my hotel at 7:30am and went for a wander with my camera...and came across this elephant sitting on the pavement outside Spitalfields Market.  This wasn't the only one.  There were 20 baby elephants too, each of which is modelled on a real orphaned elephant rescued in Kenya by the Sheldrick Wildlife Trust.  The big matriarch symbolises the mother that each of the orphaned elephants have lost and represents the keepers, team members and supporters of the Trust.  There was a QR code available for anyone wishing to donate.  What a brilliant and eye-catching installation.

My extra is an early morning image of Bishopsgate.  I used to work just off this road many years ago but I can hardly recognise it now with all the high rise buildings.  What an extraordinary skyline it is.

I went onto the V&A Museum after that and visited the Beatrix Potter exhibition 'Drawn from Life' which told the story of her upbringing and inspirational life.  It was excellent and great to see a few of her beautiful watercolours and some of the original artwork from her famous stories...all of which were utterly charming.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.