Song thrush in the cherry tree

With hot temperatures forecast, I went for my walk really early when the weather was still cool and breezy. I walked along my local stretch of canal at Hindford. 

I had hoped to see a heron that is often by the lock gates but a human fisherman rather than avian one was there instead.

There were plenty of butterflies (Common Blue, Ringlet, Gatekeeper, Small Heath, White Butterflies) plus damselflies and a demoiselle.

A flock of long-tailed tits were in the trees but the star of the day was a family of Song Thrushes which were in a wild cherry tree across the canal.  Luckily this one sat on a branch out of the leaf cover which enabled me to get a blip.

I didn't walk as far along the canal as usual as I wanted to get back home before it got too hot.  When I arrived at my car a couple that live opposite to me had just got back to theirs, we had all had the same idea of an early walk.  I'm glad that I did go early as the heat is overpowering outside, I've stayed inside in the cool which is much more comfortable. It's forecast to be even hotter tomorrow and Tuesday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.