analogconvert13

By analogconvert13

Shavings. Lumix M4/3 14mm

I am on the home straight of The Contraption - my Editor's name for the combined closet and chest of drawers in the Cape Dutch style.  I have just enough of the Imbuia recycled from a virginals I made in 1983, and Mediterranean Cypress brought from Italy more than 20 years ago now, to finish the top of the cabinet.  It took some creative glue-ups to eke out enough of these scarce materials to complete the project.  Here is an example: these are plough plane shavings from the slot in the frame parts to hold the cypress center panel.  The imbuia was originally the lid of the virginals and was only 1/2" thick.  I need 3/4" for rigidity, so I sandwiched a thin layer of oak to the back to make up the thickness.  The oak is entirely hidden by the moldings that edge the top.  The slot happens to straddle the joint between imbuia and oak, creating these pretty two-tone shavings.  I posed a small pile for the Blip. 
One day, when we have destroyed our earth completely, and the Little Green People come to survey the remnants, they will use their x-ray vision to examine all the things I hid of meine Jugendsünden with these glue-ups.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.