A riot of flowers

A hot day meant an early start to Old Sulehay to finish the last seven NVC quadrats. The site was looking wonderful, with more Viper's-bugloss than I've seen there ever, together with masses of Marjoram, Hedge Bedstraw, Bird's-foot-trefoil, Common Thyme and Basil-thyme. Despite still testing positive, I'm definitely largely over the lurgy, and today felt much easier.

After a restful afternoon I headed out again in the evening to lead a walk round Southorpe Roughs SSSI for the Langdyke Trust.Everyone was told that I was still recovering from Covid, but I kept my distance and the very brisk wind meant that there was really very little risk. A colleague had offered to lead a separate group if anybody didn't want to be near me, but everyone was fine with the arrangements. 

It was a wonderful event - I managed to get nearly everyone to help record the flora, and we listed 115 species in our two hour visit. And back at the cars there was a swarm of Ermine Spindle moths and a Cockchafer to admire. I was tired at the end, and my voice was decidedly croaky, but I'm so glad that I didn't have to cancel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.