Marik_i

By Marik_i

Weather around the bird nest

I have followed the life of the osprey family at my computer for months now, felt sorry for them when they were panting in the scorching sunshine, and for the past few days now when it has been cold and rainy and windy.

But when you have a wing span up to 6 feet, you can't really curl up on a tree branch for cover. :-)

The male has brought fish for his family quite regularly and I became curious to find out how he catches the fish.  

I found s series of photographs by the renowned nature photographer Samuli Haapasalo  at https://suomenluonto.fi/saaksen-eli-kalasaasken-hurjat-syoksyt/

It is explained that the osprey do not dive when catching the fish but lift themselves up with their strong wings. Then it reads that the bird changes the direction of the caught fish in seconds to be lengthwise. 

The more I know of nature, the less I like mankind. Thrown to woods or a lakeside, we would starve to death. Just as well - good riddance!  :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.