Silver spoon.

I wanted this spoon because it was hallmarked in Newcastle.  The hallmark for Newcastle is 3 castles- the second mark down. The top mark is the makers mark - John Robertson II and John Walton. I don't normally buy anything silver but this took my fancy. The third mark down is a lion - on its side showing 925 parts per thousand of silver, also called sterling silver. The next mark is the head of George III showing that the duty on the spoon was paid and the final mark is the date letter Y for 1813. Amazing to think this spoon is over 200 years old. I am not sure what the inscription says. I think it might be the initials of a couple but the scrolling letters are hard to read. It might be THT?
The green is a reflection of my phone. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.