Heatwave hits

Monday 18th July 2022

As we all know, but for my journal record, a red weather warning for extreme heat has been issued for the first time in the UK for today and tomorrow, with temperatures in the 30s and even predicted to reach 40. Up to now, the UK record set in 2019 was 38.7.

I didn't have any appointments today but I have a lot tomorrow. I decided to conserve energy, wear shorts and work in the office today, which was quite cool. I actually thought the temperature hadn't reached the levels predicted .... until I opened the door and went outside and the heat hit me, like it does when you get off a plane abroad. 

I noticed my car temperature gauge with a very round number at  5.51pm, I thought it was worth a record blip. 100F equates to about 38C. I really don't think it was that, other indicators said about 33C. I think my car was measuring heat reflected off the wall. Even so, it was remarkably warm.  

I am not looking forward to tomorrow when I have to keep dashing from place to place and have a service where I should be robing ... at the hottest part of the day! It has also caused concern from some members of our deanery synod about a meeting tomorrow evening. 

We do get ourselves worked up when we get extreme heat or cold in this country. Other countries cope with it all the time. I think we're going to have to get used to it. 

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.