stuartjross

By stuartjross

Old Aluminium Mines

I helped Mrs SJR do the cottage same-day change over clean this morning-early afternoon. I did not too badly apart from missing one small cobweb.

There was time late afternoon for a wee ride out on the bike. For a change I headed for Loch Treig and continued on past the dam to the old mines.*

On the return I bumped into a couple at the dam who appeared to have a huge picnic set out on the concrete plinth at the west side of the structure. Despite the systematic preparation they were not indulging themselves. The man asked if I had seen three runners coming off the "Essians". They were part of a support team for a group of three athletes one of whom was doing the complete "Ramsay Round". The scale of this mountain adventure is mind boggling in terms of distance, ascent and terrain. He explained he was next meeting up with his pals at Loch Eilde Mor (above Kinlochleven) about 11pm. He would have a significant tramp of maybe 90 minutes to get there by head torch. I wished him and his pals a successful adventure.
At this point it felt very close and I though I was going to get a soaking on the way home. It was into the wind but the bike seemed to be going well. The rain came to nothing.

*Earlier in the week I may have caused confusion by my tongue in cheek blip about Roy Bridge airport. I couldn't resist it again here. Inspired by an erroneous post I read on other social media describing a structure linked to this one as being an old aluminium mine I have continued the myth. However the structures within the security compound could be mistaken for colliery winch towers. This is actually the point where water is abstracted from Loch Treig for the hydro electric scheme which feeds the Fort William aluminium smelter.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.