The Power of the Weather

Despite the red (i.e. hot Summer!) weather warnings, I headed out reasonably early today to Claremont Landscape Gardens for my customary morning coffee and a naughty buttered scone offset by a wander around the estate ending up with a picnic lunch under a shady tree by lake.

During my wanderings (with many rests and sips of water ... the forecast was right ... it was hot!) I came across this sight of a clump of trees. Clearly sometime in the past a gale force gust of wind had almost lifted them out of the ground.  Somehow they had hung on, and Mother Nature had done her bit by ensuring enough of the root system remained for them to flourish, leaving just an indication of the power of the weather and a subject for today's Mono Monday challenge.

Afterthought...when it got too hot in the mid afternoon, I headed home. I was glad I went out though as the road in front of my house was being dug up to install utilities for the new house being built opposite. It was still noisy. I may just have to go out again tomorrow if it continues!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.