Mostly Six Five Oh

By nhc

Sidetracked - Street Corner Series

Whipple at Copley

The dog clearly had somewhere else it wanted to go, ready to cross the street (there's a park a few blocks away).  But no, this way please, said the human.

---

I got sidetracked, too.  I took a break in the afternoon, on the front page of the NY Times was a photography piece about the Amtrak California Zephyr train.  We did this trip in 1983 as a family, it's a long trip.  Oh boy, did this piece trigger some memories today!  The good, the bad, the absurd… there are things I saw and experienced on that trip I will never forget.  

The final leg of the trip was Chicago to NYC.  Another sleeper train, 21 hours.  I think that was the hardest part of the trip. At that point I think  Dad was the only one that was having a good time, the rest of us were done and ready to be not in motion and ready to be in NYC!

---

Funny how these memories come at you sometimes.  We'd spent that summer in Sacramento dealing with my late grandmother's house.  Sacramento is a furnace in the summer, unrelenting.  I remember lots of time at the pool, dance classes in prep for school in the fall, riding my bike around the neighborhood (it had a sparkly purple seat), walks along the levee in the evenings.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.