Optimus Blowtorch

Optimus Blowtorch
Another item in my ‘Project Old Stuff’. The previous items came from my Mothers / Nana’s house. Today is something that was my Dad’s, An Optimus Blowtorch. I am guessing this dates from the 50’s as I think I remember it as new and shiny.  The blowtorch uses paraffin as its fuel. Optimus, a Swedish company,  manufactured camping stoves from 1899 and merged with the Katadyn group in 2007. Another Swedish company, Primus, started in 1892

When I was a Scout Leader from the late 70’s we used paraffin stoves for patrol cooling. We typically used Primus Stoves but I do think we had Optimus as well. I need to look further. Optimus and the paraffin division of Primus merged in the 60’s.

Somewhere I have a small Primus stove so that may be another still life item for my ‘Project Old Stuff’ - If I can find it :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.