Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Veronica's description of the day is far more readable than my original draft, so I encourage you to read hers. The fact that Ingrid and I made almost exactly the same meal was a result of the limited selection of ingredients available at the village shop.
When Veronica dropped me off at the station in plenty of time for my 21:28 train there was not a soul about. The waiting room and toilets were locked up for the night but the main departure board was visible through the locked glass doors. It told us that my train was on time but that the 19:22 to Toulouse was running 2 hours late. It also confirmed that both trains running generally northward would arrive at the opposite platform. I told Veronica not to bother waiting for me and I went through the underpass beneath the tracks to platform 2 to await my train.
As I emerged, an incredibly fast, long and heavy freight train whooshed through the station almost knocking me off my feet. Quite scary. The only train indicator on my platform told me that the 19:22 was running 2 hours late and told me nothing at all about any later trains, so I waited.
Nothing.
During the next few hours Veronica and I exchanged phone calls a few times, she checking the SNCF website for updated tarot readings for my train, and me being bemused by the fact that the one train indicator on my platform was as capable of the truth as Boris. The two trains that did actually stop were both indicated as fast trains, please stand away from the platform edge.
The station cat watched me suspiciously from the sleepers beside the track at platform 1.
The 21:28 to Paris finally stopped to pick me up at 00:06 and I had another struggle with the door, but I wasn't letting this one get away. Obviously French sleeper train doors are just un salaud.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.