Back to my youth

It's my brothers 50th birthday today and we are all going out to one of the best Chinese restaurants there is to celebrate so I thought I had better do some serious walking to allow me to be able to eat everything and still stay inside my calorie allowance. My secondary school was called Hartshead High and had the 'Pike' on its Coat of Arms. The school no longer exists having been merged with three other schools to form New Charter Academy (hardly a snappy title) on a new site nearby.

Hartshead Pike is actually the hill but everyone referes to the two as 'The Pike' which was built in 1863 to celebrate the wedding of HRH Albert Edward (later to become Edward VII) to Princess Alexandra of Denmark.

From the top you get some fabulous views of the surrounding countryside, extending as far as Jodrell Bank, about 25 miles away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.