Irrigation

The day dawned cooler and fresher so, with renewed energy, I took me off to Stockbridge for a trawl round the charity shops. Not that there's a great deal for me as all the clothing seems to be in sizes rather smaller than myself but I enjoy a good guddle round the books and bric-a-brac.

I had a nice coffee in La Barantine, buying a pastry for later, then walked up to the Botanics. I wandered through, taking note of all the sprinklers in action watering the garden - main photo of the biggest. I found a shady seat to rest and enjoy the pastry and drink from my water bottle.

Extra photo collage - top left: a lady wearing a Botanics tabard emerged from the bushes, carrying a notebook and bag. I asked what she had been doing and was told that she was carrying out observations on the rhododendrons, noting the dates that the buds form and break, compiling data over several years to monitor any climate change. I could have asked for more detail but didn't want to delay her work.

Heading for the East entrance I had not intended to go through the rock garden but an event at the Caledonian Hall had people spreading over the main path, effectively blocking it to through traffic, so I made a diversion, finding the three other photos in the collage - top right: monks hood (Aconitum), bottom right: I think is Ceratostigma Wilmottianum (Chinese Plumbago) but such a vivid blue I could not resist; and bottom left: the view of the burn from the top bridge.

From here it was an easy walk to the bus stop and my two buses home to sit in the garden with a big cup of Darjeeling tea. You can tell Mr Flum's away, can't you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.