The Reunion

After the hassle of travelling from London to Edinburgh yesterday, my granddaughter and her husband George made it eventually, buckled rail lines and all. 
In Sharjah where they live it was over 50° yesterday which made them smile at the chaos caused here by our high temperatures. However, they have air conditioning everywhere, sand doesn’t burn and presumably their tarmac is different to ours. Does Sharjah have a rail system- I forgot to ask.

I had not met George before as their wedding was a very quiet one in the UAE 3 years ago and then there was Covid. In fact today is their 3rd wedding anniversary. We celebrated it equally quietly with biscuits and tea on the patio after they dropped in unexpectedly. We are having more of a family gathering tomorrow evening.

George is a handsome Lebanese with dark hair and brown eyes while Robynn is fair with green eyes so it seemed natural to have a light hearted discussion about the hair colouring of my great granddaughter due in November. It was even noted that the red haired gene is present in both families. It didn’t feel racist to discuss colouring-unlike the furore caused in Royal Circles recently.

The George Square gardens have  become again the theme park of the Fringe and Underbelly and there is restricted vehicle access to George Square which will selfishly impact on my pick point for a lift tomorrow  to my first sea dook since the 6th May.
I expect the sea temperature to be double what it was the last time I waded in. I hope I feel the difference.

This blip in George Square is one of the many flyers being posted all round the area.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.