Tadpoleview

By tadpoleview

Avebury

Seven of us squeezed into one car (all legal) and went to Avebury today. The stones are enormous and one of our friends (Gill) was able to sit in a natural seat in one of them.

I wonder how many people down the ages have done that, and especially in the last few years when digital photography has mushroomed.

Reminds me of the song 'Rock of Ages'

Rock of Ages, cleft for me,
Let me hide myself in Thee;
Let the water and the blood,
From Thy riven side which flowed,
Be of sin the double cure,
Save me from its guilt and power.


This talks about the sacrifice that Jesus made as he offered up his life to save us, and while not written about this stone was inspired by a cleft in a rock in which the author was able to hide from a storm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.