BGCoffee

By BGCoffee

Not Daylight Robbery

No - at 1:30 am on Sunday morning (I’m a bit behind sorry). I received an alarm call from BG Grapevine and so dragged my sleepy head out of bed, climbed into the car and drove to the coffee house only to find the picture above. For the second time in our history we had been burgled! The police were outside with guns drawn (of course - even though the criminals had long gone) and urged me to wait by my car while they determined, I presume, that there were no cockroaches with assault rifles hiding somewhere and then I went in to discover they had somehow removed the safe which, after the last robbery, I had bolted to the floor with 2 massive bolts!! The police will no doubt never find the perpetrators - it took my detective skills with Find my IPad to find the last bunch who were duly arrested as they were stupid enough to actually use the iPad they had stolen but they took only the safe this time and about $1200 dollars - we take very little cash these days. The damage to the door cost nearly as much as the cash they stole to fix. My confidence in the police was further reduced when they explained they had been hoodwinked by a bogus 911 (999 in the UK) call that sent them flying 3 miles up the road 5 minutes before the break in and so they were too far away to get back in time to catch them. Rather clever of the burglars I thought but not a great reflection on the police. Anyway the insurance company duly promised to take half of the damage amount in a deductible and there we are - door has been replaced and locks changed etc. In the meantime, we have an offer on the plane but going through the excruciating process of having it taken apart for inspection before they finally agree to buy it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.