On Some Days

By V1k1

Vessels

Thank you to everyone for your response to last nights sunset. Tonight it is just a gentle orange in a cloudless sky. 
I like to put flowers in jugs or gin bottles and occasionally  I surprise myself and use a vase.  It was great to be greeted with the Daphne bushes  in bloom.  I had to buy extra bushes as the first two were what I call the modern type with extra long leaves and bigger, whiter flowers as seen here.  I like the smaller more pink flowers and shorter leaves.  They both smell divine.  My little clump of snowdrops is also blooming.
The song is sung by Daphne Walker so that is the link to the Daphne flowers.  Reading the words they also fit my feelings on seeing the Daphne in bloom.  This song was big in the fifties at New Zealand parties but of course I'm too young to know that. 

Haere Mai
Everything is kapai
You're here at last
You're really here at last
Haere Mai
Not a cloud in the sky
To coin a phrase
This is the day of days

You're welcome as the sunshine
You're welcome as a king
Paikare this is one time
We'll really have a fling

Haere Mai
Everything is kapai
Throughout the land . . .

  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.