a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Warbling away merrily

Not that much bigger than a wren, I have been struggling to decide whether this little fellow was a reed warbler or a marsh warbler.  I ought to be able to tell from their songs, but to be strictly honest, I was so busy trying to get a good shot of the bird through the reeds whilst not disturbing it, that I wasn't really listening that forensically.  What an admission :-)

Of course, once you have a shot, it generally gets easier as the major distinguishing feature between the two birds is their legs, with the reed warbler having darker legs and feet than the marsh warbler.  On that basis I'm going for marsh warbler given this little chap's light olive coloured toes ...

I have enjoyed the warblers this year and I'm really going to miss them once they migrate back to sunnier climes at the end of the summer.  Some warblers over-winter here in the south West of England, birds such as the Chiff chaff for example.  But most of the warblers will take that long distance flight back  to South Africa for some winter sun.  It seems such a long way for such a little bird!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.