A Pair of Pears

More my Blip style than yesterday's; I do prefer to focus on the beauty and goodness, though I totally acknowledge the rest, and thanks for all your supportive responses. So much more that could be said...

Just one thing - the reason the Lake is going down so fast isn't just lack of rain and heat, it's that huge swathes of land have been planted with mono crops (mainly almonds) that use irrigation, and are ruining the soil with pesticides and so on. Incredible that this is happening - people must know the long term effects - is it worth it for some money now? I really don't get it.

Anyway, our pear tree has more pears on it than ever before, after the severe pruning and the feeding I gave it. And they seem OK, unlike the figs, which have all shrivelled up, and the roses. Think I've pruned off all the dead ones now. And got the scratches to prove it.

Gratefuls:
- feeling recovered from the time away, and like I've actually landed again
- the cats being less needy
- water to cool off with

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.