Alberta

By Alberta

Boundaries and Edges

The last time I went to the hairdressers was on my return from India when I'm in need of a total overhaul! And at that time in March I discovered that my regular hairdresser was off ill so I had another 'stylist'. I thought I was well beyond the age when a trip to the hairdressers could leave me wanting to cry but that was how I felt then so I was so so relieved to be back with my regular stylist today (not this guy who has an interesting dress code or am I just getting old!). I wondered how I could have made my wishes and reactions clearer at the time of the last cut.

And I had a tricky day setting some boundaries with the couple who are my house sitters when I'm away but who had an unplanned baby two weeks ago! So now we have another baby in the house and I feel I'm reaching some edges in my tolerance. I rather think a new baby and a house sitting role may be incompatible! But I'm flipping between feeling like the devil incarnate and quite pleased at having firmly expressed my boundaries. I'm someone who will usually find a way to flex and I realise today that I needed to be flexible enough to be inflexible.

Aaaaah that feels a bit better for having got it off my chest!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.