Truly Blippin' Marvelous

By JohnEdward

Beaver

behaviour: "I'm a piece of wood."

       Other behaviour I've observed: everyone knows about the tail slap . . . I think they sometimes do it just for fun. Swimming in circles: "I'm not sure if you are part of my landscape?" . . . then the raised nose sniffing and SLAP "I'm gone." . . . only to rise a little further away just to check if I'm still there where I shouldn't be. Chasing and jumping on pesky muskrats. Dam building, of course, hefting rocks for the foundation and daubing mud. I've not been up early enough (or stayed late enough in the evening) to witness them gnawing on trees but I see the evidence . . .  and I did once hear a beaver 'bark' like a small dog as I watched it.


203/365/162

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.