Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Elderberry

This is a stem of elderberry berries that are one of many growing along the creek and other places at Tate's yard.   I hope to get up here in another two weeks (or whenever Tate says they are all mostly ripe)  to pick the berries to make elderberry jam.  Last year I waited almost too late but I did get enough for six jars of jam.   Hoping to get double that amount this year if I can get the berries when they are not pecked by birds or eaten by deer.

We came up to the mountains today in order to dog sit.  My granddaughter was moving away from her hometown to begin a new life in Asheville which is about 3 hours from here but only 2  hours from my house.  She is sharing an apartment with a friend and hoping to get back into college in the spring semester at a different school. Several of her lifelong friends are located in Asheville so I know she will have a wonderful time being with all of them.    I know Tate will miss her being so close as all the girls are now in different towns.    It will tough to schedule time together when all of us are spread out so far.   

Life just keeps moving on!   

The heat wave has made it to the mountains..really warm here today but once the sun went down it cooled off nicely.  Got the windows open and a nice little breeze coming through!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.