reflections

By snapso

White Ripples on Blue

Each day the sky is a blank canvas, soon filled with abstract moving shapes.

Today’s Cirrocumulus clouds are rare; they’re high ice clouds like Cirrostatus and Cirrus, sitting up in the troposphere, but billowy, with a fish scale pattern. While they’re a sign of fair weather (today was a sunny respite after recent rain), they often mean there’s bad weather coming. (Full confession: I'm no cloud expert, but I was intrigued by this pattern and, well, Google told me.)

I wasn’t planning to photograph cloud patterns today, but the sky was full of these clouds around midday and then they were gone, just like that.

I see a lot of clouds and skies in blip journals, particularly recently, and some of them are quite amazing. Perhaps it’s a sign of the unusual weather we’re having everywhere.

This was shot in RAW, reducing exposure and minimising highlights in processing — the dynamic range was too much for JPG.

Random question if you read this far: How many Blips do you think are published each day? I don’t know the answer to this question, but it seems my feed of recent photos is constantly updating, from one minute to the next.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.