The second half of life..

By twigs

NZ native greenhood orchid

I had the absolute pleasure of being invited to help D check 'his' trapline in the Abel Tasman national park today.  For those who aren't familiar, traplines are a series of baited predator traps that set at around 100m intervals in places where pest control or eradication is needed.   The Abel Tasman NP is one such place and the Abel Tasman Birdsong Trust is one of the several 'supporters' who co-ordinate a series of traplines.  D has been a volunteer with them for a few years now and, in the absence of his partner for a couple of months, he asked if I'd like to join him.  I'd be lying if I said my motives were purely altruistic.........a boat ride out into the National Park and the possibility of spending a day with a botanic guru photographing native orchids were pretty signficant influencers.  I'd never seen a NZ orchid (at least, not knowingly) so was pretty pleased when D found this one :)  There was also plenty of fungi to be found and plenty of nattering to be done. 

We finished our 30 traps (tally - 2 rats) in plenty of time to enjoy 40 minutes on the beach at Appletree Bay before  the water taxi arrived to take us back.  I hadn't realised just how tired I was until I sat down in the evening.........absolutley shattered after a long but fabulous day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.