LITTLE TERN

We've had a colony of rare Little Terns nesting on the beach at Seaton Carew since April and I believe this year they've been successful. Their attempts in previous years have been destroyed by predators, the weather, vandals, dogs etc, but still they keep coming back from Africa to have another go. This year there was proper protection, with that portion of the beach fenced off and a succession of volunteer wardens to keep watch. They chose a very busy piece of beach just in front of the prom and near the funfair so if they have been successful it's quite an achievement. I know there are still many local people who can't see the point, though, as well as the usual idiots who try to terrorise and scare them away. Here's one of them (little tern, not local idiot), showing its successful camouflage. I was hoping that if I snapped fairly randomly I might inadvertently blip one of the chicks, but despite fairly careful examination I can't see any in my photos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.