hpx

By hpx

Banks Peninsula

Brimming with optimism I headed to Banks Peninsula hopeful that I'd miss the worst of the murk. For nearly an hour and a half of steady, I thought I'd make it to the shelter below the summit of Mt Herbert. That would work my knee well beyond what it's been capable of.

But the clag rolled over from Christchurch and the Canterbury Plains and descended over my route. Bugger. It's a rough track on the south side below Mt Bradley. If it became a total whiteout I risked going over a bluff.

Plan B. Head to the Packhorse Hut and descend via the main track down Kaituna Valley. I took a compass bearing on the hut. If the cloud descended further I'd know where I was headed. Once at the hut I added another jacket and perched on rocks for a cuppa and a bit to eat. I fancied the outdoors more than a hut.

Not quite what I planned but on the upside - my knee went well with my full tramping kit on (heavier pack and full leather boots), slippery conditions didn't bother it, and crappy wet conditions meant no ice.

I'm desperate to return to the high country. Is my knee good enough? If I'd had another 1.5-2 hours on it today I'd know for sure. I guess I'll have to judge that come next weekend.

Oh, and a bonus smiling hpx at the bottom.

Today's gratitude: For solitude.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.