Family Ghost

By PhilDockerill

Rocks in a cage

There isn't so much by way of a noble vista around Waltham Cross so I've had to fall back on manufacturing one. This is taken a few hundred yards west of the Waltham Abbey Church opposite MacDonalds which I notice is now open 24 hours.

To the right is the river coming down from the Stort with the gunpowder museum on the other side, further to the right. On the left is a lock on the Lee Naviagation with the artificial white water course that was built for the olympics to the left of that.

I would normally imagine that rocks like this are used, bound in wire cages, to support the edges of the river, but these are a few feet from the edge. I wonder if they are still there to protect the path from the soggy ground leading up to the river edge. I can't imagine the Lea Valley park funds were used in the hope I'd come along with a fish-eye lens.

The picture has been corrected to take out the wild circular distortions you usually get with a fisheye. Not sure why but a brief domestic survey elected this mono as the best version. You can imagine what the others must have been like >80)

Hit "L" for large if you have an extra few seconds

I thought I'd mention a hedgehog, only because blip stats seem to think it is important *nods*

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.