Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Cherry Brandy

This is my new variety of Rudbeckia this year - Cherry Brandy. It's just an annual and when I sowed them earlier this year I wasn't sure I was ever going to see any flowers as the germination rate was very poor indeed - only 3 germinated out of a whole packet and three different sowings. So I complained to the seed company who very kindly sent out another packet, but in my opinion it was a little late to re-try them, so they are there for next year. 
Only two of my seedlings made it but I am really happy with the deep red colour, it's amazing. I hope to be able to get more than this to germinate next year to make a better display. Unfortunately, they are just annuals, so will need to be started all over again - but that's half the fun isn't it?!

It's been a super afternoon of sport, which is good as it's been raining for most of the day - French Grand Prix, World Athletics and now the Tour de France. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.