Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

River Festival

Today I ventured round all the parts of the festival I had missed out on yesterday.
Best of all was the local fire & rescue service doing a demonstration of rescuing a person from the water. Whoop!
Yesterday I had had a brass band at my back and all the deck-chairs watching them were full, but today it was a bagpipe band so all eyes were on the boys in the fast rib and the kilts weren't getting a look in.
Several iterations of the British Army were camped in St Mary's garden. These are Coldstream Guards at Waterloo but there was also a British field hospital from the American War of Independence, some navy types (perhaps Trafalgar) and some pirates, all giving really in-depth and truthful explanations about anything anyone cared to ask.
There was an area set aside to showcase all things vegan, though I had to trek miles outside that area to find a falafel because all the vegans wanted to show off plant based versions of ham, egg and chips, or pastrami or whatever. Beyond the vegan area a craft tent was showing off some cakes-that-look-like-kebabs. Please! Can we all just stop playing with food!
I caught up with the vintage cars too.
The day was sunny and gorgeous and I really fancied a pint, but the beer tent was charging silly prices and I wasn't going to venture into my perfect pub with my runny nose, so I headed home and took a test and Yay! My holiday has just been extended by another week.
Not going to the pub though.

Some believe that all is not yet lost

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.