CherryR

By CherryR

Too wet, and too many plums!

I was about to venture out to the garden this evening to find a blip when the heavens opened. Not camera friendly weather so this is taken from the back door.

The bits from the old plum tree complete with baby plums on the ground are part of the branch which split off from the trunk after the last heavy rain. The book did say to thin them to prevent this happening through overcropping.  This is the tree in the background which was producing the fungal pocket plums earlier in the year. I wrongly assumed that was the end of plums for that tree for the season so I left it alone. Suddenly there were masses and I didn't get on to the thinning fast enough. A dire warning for next year.
 
Fortunately I did thin the fruit on the much younger tree nearby so I'm hoping for plum jam.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.