Livresse

By Livresse

Antibes - day 2

Today we spent the morning at the "médiathèque". As always I was shocked by the difference in funding and support between French libraries and British ones. Antibes is not a big city, yet the place is easily 5 times that of our biggest library (my photo in extra doesn't do it justice). It is staffed by about 30 qualified librarian, when we have less than 10 for the whole county. I had a chat with the person looking after the children's section, which is huge. While I was there my friend Daniel started being unwell so we got home and cancelled our plans for the afternoon - it was probably too hot to do anything anyway. In the evening, Laura and I walked along the coast and up to the Garoupe lighthouse, chapel and view point. We got there just in time to see the sunset over the French Riviera. When we got back Daniel was worse and we wondered whether to go to the A&E or not. We tried to find an emergency service but failed to connect with a doctor. In the end Daniel decided to wait, try and sleep and contact his GP in the morning. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.